Releases on Working With America's Allies
June 11, 2012

(WASHINGTON) – U.S. Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL), Chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, released the following statement today on the Administration’s announcement that it will not sanction India, Malaysia, South Africa, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Turkey and Taiwan for purchases of Iranian crude oil.  Statement by Ros-Lehtinen:

“Today’s announcement is what we have come to expect from an Administration that has time and again come up short on Iran sanctions. 

“While many of our allies are doing the right thing by significantly decreasing crude oil purchases from Iran, those who are violating the law must be held to account.  If the Administration is willing to exempt all of these countries, who will they make an example out of? 

“There remains much that needs to be done to tighten the screws on Iran, and once again Congress will have to lead the way.”

NOTE: Ros-Lehtinen is the author of H.R. 1905, the Iran Threat Reduction Act, which strengthens U.S. sanctions against Iran in order to compel Tehran to abandon its pursuit of nuclear weapons and other threatening activities. The bill overwhelmingly passed the House in December 2011.


May 18, 2012
May 17, 2012
May 17, 2012
May 16, 2012
May 14, 2012
September 14, 2011
September 14, 2011
September 10, 2011
August 18, 2011